top of page
Writer's picturemoon juice

an interview w aidan amini of slaves to humanity


You consider your music to be “sunset grunge” can you tell us about what that means?

Sunset grunge is the mix of the musicianship and riffing style from the sunset hard rock era (Guns n roses, Morley Crue...) and the angst and fullness of the Seattle grunge movement (Soundgarden, Nirvana...) so that’s what we’ve been going for musically, kinda mixing those two great era’s


What is your favorite and least favorite part of creating music?

 If I had to choose my least favorite part about creating music, it would probably be putting the song together, starting with a main part, and watching my band members work is definitely an incredible experience, but at the beginning moments, I have no clue what the vocal lines are going to be, so I start trying to come up with stuff on the spot. But my absolute FAVORITE part when it comes to writing music, is the studio. By then the song has every part to it, and really in the studio is where the song becomes what we want it to be, and it’s the most incredible experience ever. 


What made you want to start music, how did you get into it?

From the very beginning of my life, I was a massive fan of music, but it really all started with Michael Jackson. I became a massive Jackson fan, and decided that THATS what I wanted to do. Then a few years went by and I heard Slash with Myles Kennedy. Listening to them changed what I wanted to do. I didn’t want to be a solo performer, I wanted to be in a band. So I started 2 bands before this one, and I’ve loved playing in every single one since!


What’s been your experience with your local music scene?

 My favorite experience with the local music scene has been our show at Malone’s in Santa Ana. We set it up early in the day, and started putting banners up and running through sound check, and it felt so good to be up on that stage, just in front of the sound guy. Then a few hours later, we had about 600 people (100 people over the venue capacity) singing our song to us. It was incredible, and I had never experienced anything like that before. And the bands we played with (Tornadic, Alter Ego, The Former, and Strawberry army) were so fun to hang around and the show just had an overall incredible energy that none of us had experienced before.


If you weren’t doing music, what would you be doing now?

Music is really my one and only true passion. If I wasn’t doing music, Idk where I’d be actually. Knowing me though, I’d probably try and get into culinary arts. Cooking for me is definitely a hobby, and one I enjoy for sure. I’m also a big video game guy, and I’d probably find something to do with that.


What was the biggest challenge for you when doing music during quarantine?

For the band, quarantine kinda put us in a really tough writing situation. We had trouble writing full songs, and just resorted to writing parts for when we get back together again.


Can you tell us anything about upcoming projects?

For the last few months, I’ve been working with Jaime Bennington (Chester Bennington’s son) and Charlie Colin (bass player for train) and we’ve been working on a ballad for the band. It’s called “I’m Alive”, and as of right now we have no set plans on release seen as though we just got out of the studio with it this week, but the song was a lot of fun to write and even more fun to record, and I’m super stoked to get it out to the world!


What is one thing you want people to take away from listening to you music/one thing you hope to achieve with your music?

In my lyrics, I want to always spread positivity and reassurance. My goal is not to write songs about partying and doing drugs and all that bullshit, because that just does nothing to help and inform the people who are listening to my music. I want people in bad situations to know that things get better, and that they have stuff like music to rely on. Music has changed my life incredibly, and I want others to experience that in the same way.



76 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page